MY WRITING PROCESS BLOG TOUR

With thanks to Charlie, fellow Ty Rosa goer. This is something of pinch hit, as not-Brits say. Always happy to help.

1) What are you working on?
I’m finishing Keeping Mum, a tale to mark the centenary of WWI. It questions the social pressure faced by those at home during the war and if it was a way of life worth fighting for.

In the background is the ever expanding series of “Kiwi and Cymru” (well done if you’ve said that right) – a bunch of New Zealand and Welsh people who are living life in both countries, worlds apart.

Two of my works are Silver Orphans and I’m on the lookout for new homes for them.

As you can tell, nothing is simple in my life. It is a blessing I am good at multi-tasking.

2) How does your work differ from others of its genre?
It’s not about sex. It’s full of British humour. It makes you feel, and makes you think. My favourite comments about my writing style are lyrical and sapiosensual. People are drawn through an easily read prose into the heart of characters and their situations. It’s also about things that are uncommon in fiction, such as cosplay and disability, and women.

3) Why do you write what you do?
If I didn’t, the voices in my head would not let me do anything else. It’s also more likely to be financially rewarding than writing Doctor Who fanfic.

I came across an interview with the Dalai Llama who said people with microphones should say something. My books are my microphone. Apart from voicing my observations at The F Word, I find that people are more likely to reread and contemplate fiction than faction.

4) How does your writing process work?
It starts with my notepad, which goes everywhere with me. I collect anecdotes from people, newspapers and scenarios. They either collate together into a story or flesh out an existing idea. Life is my inspiration. These ideas are then extracted into a story folder in a coherent format. That’s my linear structure, within which I write the bits that want to be written first. I then go through adding details. It’s about energy management.

I nominate my fellow Wales-loving writers:

My long term buddy Rosina Scott, who got me into this gay romance thing. I owe her a lot in life, and this is one of those things.

The uber-caring Jayne Butler, who made me aware of the UK Meet and shares my passion for cake.

The epic Grammar Guardian Henrietta Clarke, who has the honour of first paperback with Bottom Drawer Publications.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

